Creating Journalists at Emmanuel College

A guide for ENGL 2501 and ENGL 3801

Check out a few PUBLISHED Emmanuel College students!

Rick Muhr of Grafton trains charity runners who plan to run the Boston Marathon. Photo by Jennifer Lord Paluzzi

Rick Muhr of Grafton trains charity runners who plan to run the Boston Marathon. Photo by Jennifer Lord Paluzzi

Here’s something I didn’t plan when mapping out my courses this year: two of my Introduction to Journalism students ended up having their midterm Boston Marathon runner profiles published.

Both Britni and Kathleen Grey ended up with Grafton runners for their profiles, which wasn’t a surprise — part of the assignment was crowd-sourcing and, when I assisted when sourcing student requests on my social media, we ended up with two people from my town. When Richard Price, my former reporter and editor of The Grafton Villager, put out a call for Grafton runners to profile, it was the perfect opportunity to teach an unexpected lesson in how to pitch a story.

The result:

Some other student work of note:

  • Paige Kennery regularly live-Tweets the weekly SGA meeting for the student-run EC The Hub and compiles them for the site in a Storify.
  • There have been several op-eds on The Hub over the past couple of weeks, but when I started reading this one, I really didn’t have to look at the byline — I’d already recognized Paul Rowley’s writing style.
One comment on “Check out a few PUBLISHED Emmanuel College students!

  1. kmgrey2014
    April 3, 2014

    Reblogged this on kmgrey2014.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 3, 2014 by in Boston Marathon, Get a job, Journalism and tagged , , .

Follow me on Twitter

